Meet city Engineer Andy Goh, P.E. SanTan Sun News

Meet city Engineer Andy Goh, P.E.

February 21st, 2019 development
Meet city Engineer Andy Goh, P.E.
Community
0

By the City of Chandler

 

Q: What do you do? 

A: I am in charge of the Capital Projects Division of the Public Works & Utilities Department. It’s my job to lead the division to help implement citywide capital projects on time and on budget, while meeting the project’s goals.

 

Q: Upcoming challenges or opportunities in relation to your job? 

A: We reorganized the Capital Projects Division last year in order to be more effective and efficient in providing the full range of engineering services for the City’s capital improvement program. We are currently looking into the daily operation of the entire division and considering ways to improve our operation in order to increase efficiency, effectiveness and foster better collaboration.

 

Q: What is the most enjoyable part of your job? 

A: I enjoy solving complex project and engineering issues.

 

Q: What did you do before you came to work for the City? 

A: I was the Deputy Public Works Director City Engineer for the City of Tempe for 26 years and the City Engineer/Director of Capital Improvement Department for the City of El Paso, Texas.

 

Q: Describe some of your personal or professional accomplishments.

A: I am a registered Professional Engineer in the states of Arizona, California and Texas. While with Tempe, I oversaw the completion of many high profile infrastructure projects, including the Tempe Center for the Arts and Tempe Town Lake Dam, which is the nation’s largest hydraulically operated, steel-gated dam. However, one of my most fulfilling project experiences was to help improve the quality of life for people living in one of the poorest regions of Burundi, Africa.

 

Q: Where were you born and raised? 

A: I was born and raised in Malacca, Malaysia. I migrated to United States after completing high school. I have been a Chandler resident for the last 17 years.

 

Q: What are your hobbies, or interests away from work? 

A: I really enjoy traveling and home improvement projects.

 

Q: Describe your family.

A: I have been married for 31 years and have been blessed with three children. I am the fourth child in my family of six and my siblings are living in various places around the world, including here in the Phoenix area, Malaysia and Australia.

 

Q: Tell us something people would be surprised to learn about you, or your job.

A: Besides English, I am fluent in Chinese and Malaysian. I have converted my backyard into a tropical garden full of roses and Hong Kong orchid trees.

 

Q: What is one thing that you’ve always wanted to do, but haven’t yet? 

A: Skydiving.

Comments are closed.